columns

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #15044
    Ron King
    Participant

    Andre, I decided that it’s time to try using columns, so I pasted your provided code into a page for three columns. I entered a title at the top and an image below.
    My intention was to then put some text under it, followed by another image, then text, and so forth. The problem I’m having is inserting text under the image. I can’t get the cursor to show up under it. So I tried putting the text in first, pushing it down the page a bit, then inserting the image above. When I do that the text shows up beside the image, then leaves a big space, then continues under the photo. I can move the text down the page more, but then there’s too much of a space between the image and text. What am I doing wrong?

    #19708
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    You’re not really doing anything wrong, it’s more of a problematic editor that WordPress uses; it has a nasty habit of not cooperating when working with custom html stuff as it likes to change things. It’s usually better to work in the “text” editor view for things like this. Was each column to have a heading, then image, then below that text content per column?

    #19709
    Ron King
    Participant

    I figured out where the problem was. What bothers me is how much time I’ve wasted ’cause I’ve been trying different things since Tuesday. It’s text wrap, Text wrap doesn’t work in this theme. I’m not blaming you, I feel dumb that I didn’t figure it out days ago. I did some testing this morning and set up a page exactly like one I had in another of your themes, and that’s exactly what’s happening.

    #19711
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    One of the things that happens when making websites and working with code. However, were you able to get this working then?
    By the way, don’t feel dumb because sometimes things like this happens…even for me as it did a few days ago where I spent 3 days only to realize something I had missed from day 1. One of the reasons why creating a theme can take up to two months or more.

    #19713
    Ron King
    Participant

    At the time of my question, I hadn’t gotten it to work so I just did something else, so I could get on with my life. Here’s something I hate, I tried putting in an image in with the text one more time, for no good reason, and the text wrapped around it just like I had wanted. What I meant when I said it was something I hate was because when something doesn’t work, and then does work, with nothing being changed, and I don’t know why. For the life of me I can think of nothing I could have done to make it different. When something is fixed, I want to know why for the time it happens again. I’m thinking one of my problems is that I’m trying to be to fancy and make pages look like I did in the old days.

    Going on…. On the demo site,under “pages,” it appears the links are demonstrations of page templates, except for two. How is the page “Meet the Team” done? I want to try that.

    Can you give me a hint what the next theme is going to look like? Ron

    #19716
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    I always like to say go simple first and when comfortable and any kinks and other things are done and out of the way, then explore making enhancements. Making a website is not really an easy task, despite what others may say.

    As for meet the team, I discovered I did not provide a snippet in the download and will do this on the next update. However, in the meantime, I’ve attached the HTML snippet for the full page as the demo shows. Simply copy and paste the code into a blank page and replace the content with your own…again, for images etc., I prefer to work in the “text” editor view.
    meet-the-team_2014-04-18.txt

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    #19717
    Ron King
    Participant

    Thank you!

    You never have to remind me about using other’s images, I was a professional photographer for 30 years or so. A number of years ago I worked full-time for a company working on websites. The owner insisted on grabbing photos off the internet and using them. I repeatedly warned him against doing that, but he wouldn’t. I made him find them and give them to me, and finally talked him into hiring someone else for that part of the business because I didn’t want anything to do with the theft.

    #19718
    Ron King
    Participant

    Andre, everything works find – almost. How do I control the size of the container for the picture? I downloaded one of your pictures and it’s size is 200 x 370. In this case that’s actually about the same size as the ones I’m using, although that won’t always be the case. My size started at 200 x 373, so, for the sake of simplicity, I re-sized mine to be the same as yours. Even when I tried different sizes at the beginning, the borders at the ends were perfect, but the top and bottom show way too much.

    #19719
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    I’m not quite sure I understand what you mean the top and bottom show too much? Do you have an example?

    #19720
    Ron King
    Participant

    I didn’t think what I said would make sense. Here it is.
    rk-web.jpg

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    #19721
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    I went to your site to check this out….first, definitely make sure your images are the same size as each other (cropped and sized). For mine that are there, the actual image sizes are 370×200 and in that 3-column layout, they dynamically get adjusted to 352×190 pixels.

    Your images have a class of aligncenter, but if you change it to like mine have, make them with a class=”center”

    #19722
    Ron King
    Participant

    The size doesn’t make any difference. Maybe I should give it up, I’m getting really frustrated try to get it to work
    rk-3.jpg

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    #19723
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    I would recommend calling it a night, start fresh in the morning. The first big thing to do is on each of your images, change the class “aligncenter” with “center” . The aligncenter class is what is putting that extra space on the top and bottom.

    #19724
    Ron King
    Participant

    I don’t know what you mean by change the class “aligncenter” with “center.”

    #15045
    Sushil Adhikari
    Moderator

    Here is one of your images in your columns:

    wjs-th

    See the aligncenter ? Change that to center and then for the others you have.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.