Losing customizations when upgrading from free to Pro

Home Forums WordPress Themes – Premium Pure & Simple Losing customizations when upgrading from free to Pro

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Sandra Gambone 1 year, 2 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #59096

    Sandra Gambone
    Participant

    I have used the free version of Pure & Simple, and like it very much. I just purchased and installed Pure & Simple Pro. I did not activate it. First I did the Live Preview.
    I see my logo transferred OK, but all my colors are back to default, as well as blog settings, my header image is gone, and who knows what else.
    I had hoped since I am using the same theme, just the Pro version of it, that these settings would have carried over.
    What can I do to not lose everything I did on the free version?
    I saw a mention of the plugin Customizer Export/Import for this issue with another theme, but this didn’t save colors, which is so basic I don’t understand the omission.

    Thank-you for your help
    Sandy

    #59098

    Bidur
    Moderator

    Hello Sandra,

    Thanks for contacting us!

    The first thing is you always need to make a backup of your website before performing any upgrade or migration if you’ve done that.
    If you’ve made changes to the theme files directly, without using a child theme or a plugin, those will be lost.
    However if you’ve made changes from your customizer, using Customizer Export/Import plugin should work fine to import the changes back.
    Had you succesfully imported the changes in the customizer? What steps had you followed?

    Let us know.

    Best Regards,
    Bidur

    #59099

    Bidur
    Moderator

    Hello Sandra,

    Thanks for contacting us!

    The first thing is you always need to make a backup of your website before performing any upgrade or migration if you’ve done that.
    If you’ve made changes to the theme files directly, without using a child theme or a plugin, those will be lost.
    However if you’ve made changes from your customizer, using Customizer Export/Import plugin should work fine to import the changes back.
    Had you succesfully imported the changes in the customizer? What steps had you followed?

    Let us know.

    Best Regards,
    Bidur

    #59102

    Sandra Gambone
    Participant

    Hello Bidur,

    I did do a backup. I have played with the customizer backup again and I guess I used the wrong method to use the backup – I used the ‘upload backup’
    button (because I had downloaded it I thought I needed to upload it). But then I tried the ‘revert to this backup’ button and that did work. For some reason I didn’t notice that button the first time.

    Thank-you for your quick reply. I am all set now.
    Sandy

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.